Uptown-Little Otis XXI Luis Chaluisan Salsa Magazine 6,348 members (158 new)

Image
https://vimeo.com/93491647
Double Track Sung by: El Extreme Luis Chaluisan
Processed on Flip Recorder
Edited on Windows Movie Maker
Written by: Roy Orbison and Joe Melson
Selection from upcoming EP: Little Otis XXI
roughrican productions (c) 2014
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=4267796869182

Becky Laabs at Art A Site has booked me for a show in June where I will be presenting new paintings, poetry and singing. I’ve been searching for a song to open the set and remembered that as a kid at Saints Philip and James School with Frank Burns in the Bronx I discovered I was attracted to girls in the sixth grade. Her name? Mary Ann Popoli. I asked her out to the movies and spent the day leading up to the date listening to WCBS FM and tape recorded on my cassette player a song by Roy Orbison (Uptown) that fit my mood of puppy love. Here I give it a whirl 45 years later. https://vimeo.com/93491647

Uptown, in penthouse number three
Uptown, there lives a doll just made for me
She’s the finest thing that you’ve ever seen, oh ho ha
Uptown, I see her most every day
Uptown, but she never ever looks my way
I’m just a bellhop, you see I can’t stop
And tell her what I wanna say
That one of these days, I’m gonna have money
She’ll wanna be my ever-lovin’ honey
It won’t be long, just wait and see
I’ll have a big car, fine clothes
And then I’ll be
Uptown, in penthouse number three
Uptown, just my baby and me
Yeah, one of these days, I’m gonna have money
She’ll wanna be my ever-lovin’ honey
It won’t be long, just wait and see
I’ll have a big car, fine clothes
And then I’ll be
Uptown, in penthouse number three
Uptown, just my baby and me

According to musician and author Albin Zak, the combination of the studio—engineered by Bill Porter, who experimented with close miking the doo-wop backup singers—production by Foster, and accompanying musicians, gave Orbison’s music a “polished, professional sound…finally allo ing Orbison’s stylistic inclinations free rein”. In addition to the Nashville Sound’s core components, Orbison requested strings in the studio. With this combination, Orbison recorded three new songs, the most notable of which was “Uptown”, penned by himself and Joe Melson Impressed with the results, Melson later recalled, “We stood in the studio, listening to the playbacks and thought it was the most beautiful sound in the world”. The Rolling Stone Illustrated History of Rock and Roll states that the music Orbison made in Nashville “brought a new splendor to rock”, and compared the melodramatic effects of the orchestral accompaniment to the music production of Phil Spector. Luis Chaluisan

— with Maria Hernandez and 6 others at WEPAwebTV – New Edge Theater.

Leave a Reply

