I Feel Good- Little Otis XXI Blues Confidential Style

The late Ray Salazar gave me my big break to be a paid percussionist with his legendary Toledo band BLUES CONFIDENTIAL (up to then I had been sitting in with Steven j. Athanas seminal New Wave Band THE WET SHAVERS) I learned how to phrase songs from Steve but it was in BLUES CONFIDENTIAL where I learned how to honk and shout. I not only played percussion but did several songs a night. I FEEL GOOD was my showcase. I sang, danced and flew around the stage like a Blues Maniac.Thank you Ray. God Bless you and I’ll catch up with you at the Big Blues Bash up in the sky when God books me for the gig.
I Feel Good-Little Otis XXI
Double Vocal by: El Extreme Luis Chaluisan
Processed on Flip Recorder
Edited on Windows Movie Maker
Written by: James Brown
roughrican productions (c) 2014

Raymond J. SALAZAR
Salazar, 60, of Toledo, Ohio, passed Sunday, February 14, 2010. He was born in Toledo, Ohio, on February 4, 1950, to Lorenzo and Carmen (Gonzales) Salazar. Ray was a graduate of Cardinal Stritch and had been employed by the Chrysler Corp. He was a lifelong Blues musician and played throughout the Toledo area with Blue’s Confidential and other groups. He enjoyed reading and was a longtime fan of the Detroit Tigers and the Detroit Redwings. Ray was a member of St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church. Surviving are his brother, Lorenzo (Deborah Sykes); sister, Christina (Tracy Counsellor) Salazar; nieces and nephews, Lauren Salazar, Sean and Alexis Carew. Ray was preceded in death by his parents. Friends may call at the Eggleston Meinert Pavley Funeral Home Oregon Chapel, 440 S. Coy Rd., on Thursday, February 18, 2010, from 2-8 p.m. Funeral services will begin in the funeral home on Friday at 1:00 p.m. and proceed to St. Thomas Church for a Mass of Christian Burial at 1:30 p.m. Interment will follow in Restlawn Memorial Park. Expressions of sympathy in Ray’s memory can be made to St. Thomas Church or Hospice of Northwest Ohio. Ray’s family would like to thank the staff of the CCU at Mercy St. Charles Hospital for the kindness they showed Raymond.

Leave a Reply

