That’s All Right Mama-Little Otis XXI Luis Chaluisan

That’s All Right Mama-Little Otis XXI
I was exposed as a child growing up in Brooklyn on Dean Street and Hoyt to a variety of music in our home by my father and around the corner at Richie Ray’s home where his mother Cristina was my babysitter. Pops sang Latin tunes around the house accompanied by the Victrola while at Richie’s home there were pop 45’s. His mom’s special treat was to have me hear Puff the Magic Dragon but it was another 45 that captivated me, namely “That’s All Right Mama” by Elvis Presley. She showed me a picture of Elvis and I was convinced that he was Puerto Rican given that he looked like my older cousins – pompadour hair and cool clothes. As a parting gift when we moved to the Bronx in 1963 Richie’s mom Cristina gave me the 45 and later my mom gave me money to buy my second LP featuring Elvis (my dad bought my first LP “Meet the Beatles” while we lived in Brooklyn.) As a celebration of the success we had with last night’s airing of ROCKER ROLLER RICAN in NY here’s my rendition of That’s All Right Mama. (It was the song I sang to audition for West Side Story for Cardinal Hayes High School production of West Side Story in 1974. Man, I did have a lot of hair in those days!)
The song was written by Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup, and originally recorded by him in Chicago on September 6, 1946, as “That’s All Right”. Some of the lyrics are traditional blues verses first recorded by Blind Lemon Jefferson in 1926. Crudup’s recording was released as a single on RCA Victor 20-2205, but was less successful than some of his previous recordings. At the same session, he recorded a virtually identical tune with different lyrics, “I Don’t Know It”, which was also released as a single (RCA Victor 20-2307). In early March 1949, the song was rereleased under the title, “That’s All Right, Mama” (RCA Victor 50-0000), which was issued as RCA’s first rhythm and blues record on their new 45 rpm single format, on bright orange vinyl.
That’s All Right Mama-Little Otis XXI
Vocal by: El Extreme Luis Chaluisan
Written by: Arthur Crudup
Processed on Flip Recorder
Edited on Windows Movie Maker
roughrican productions (c) 2014
http://www.reverbnation.com/luischaluisan

Leave a Reply

